購物比價圖書找車網 登入
FindPrice   圖書  
 有 2 項符合

How Not to Die Alone

的圖書  
How Not to Die Alone How Not to Die Alone

作者:Roper 
出版社:Putnam Pub Group
出版日期:2019-05-28
語言:英文   規格:精裝 / 15.2 x 22.9 x 2.1 cm / 普通級
型式價格供應商所屬目錄
 
$ 599
博客來 博客來
現代女性小說
 
$ 699
誠品網路書店 誠品網路書店
大眾文學
圖書介紹 - 資料來源:博客來   評分:      
圖書名稱:How Not to Die Alone

內容簡介

  當無意間脫口而出的謊言,越滾越大……
  不小心虛構了一整個家庭的單身男子,要怎麼鼓起勇氣告訴全世界:其實我沒有老婆也沒有小孩,我單身,今年42歲,我不想孤獨而死啊!


  安卓(Andrew)僅僅是出於一時之間大腦短路,於是在面試被問到是否有小孩時,脫口而出,虛構了一整個家庭:他的家裡有他(那是當然),以及……一個太太與兩個小孩。天知道他根本是個孤單的中年男人,過著其實他覺得沒什麼不好的獨居生活,唯一的親人是和他關係並不親近的姐姐。

  但就是……這樣了。而且安卓正式被雇用後,也找不到可以澄清謊言的機會。接下來的五年,他過得如坐針氈,面對同事們善意的詢問,老闆日常的關心,無不追得他無地自容。

  但謊言引發的效應,沒有最棘手,只有更棘手。當新同事佩姬(Peggy)闖入安卓的世界,他深深被佩姬吸引,但佩姬已婚的身分、和安卓「已婚」的身分,以及安卓的社交障礙,都讓一切變得萬分複雜。

  而他的工作,是必須拜訪孤獨死的離世者的家,搜尋他們的遺物,找出他們是否有親屬可以通知。在工作的過程中,安卓也逐漸思考了孤單的生活,是否真的就是他想要的。而他一直以來選擇孤獨的真實原因,也慢慢浮現。

  安卓必須作出決定,講出事實,展開新生活,還是放棄辛苦建立的友誼,持續打安全牌,走在謊言裡,不見天日。

  面對佩姬,安卓該如何解釋這一切呢? (文/博客來編譯)

  Smart, darkly funny, and life-affirming, How Not to Die Alone is the bighearted debut novel we all need, for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, it's a story about love, loneliness, and the importance of taking a chance when we feel we have the most to lose.

  Andrew's been feeling stuck.

  For years he's worked a thankless public health job, searching for the next of kin of those who die alone. Luckily, he goes home to a loving family every night. At least, that's what his coworkers believe.

  Then he meets Peggy.

  A misunderstanding has left Andrew trapped in his own white lie and his lonely apartment. When new employee Peggy breezes into the office like a breath of fresh air, she makes Andrew feel truly alive for the first time in decades.

  Could there be more to life than this?

  But telling Peggy the truth could mean losing everything. For twenty years, Andrew has worked to keep his heart safe, forgetting one important thing: how to live. Maybe it's time for him to start.

Review

  "Just the kind of book I wanted to read in these times. Charming, empathetic, witty, emotional, and hopeful, Roper’s cast of quirky, vulnerable characters make for a truly warm and affecting debut."—J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest
 
  “Wryly funny and quirkily charming – perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.”—Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters
 
  "Richard Roper uplifts the human spirit and shows us how to embrace life and hope in his wickedly witty debut.”—Phaedra Patrick, author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

  “Roper’s delightful debut is as funny as it is touching. . . . This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible.”—Publishers Weekly
 
  "Simultaneously heartwarming and heartbreaking, Roper’s endearing debut novel is a wonderful exploration of loneliness and the universal desire for connection. Darkly funny and uplifting, How Not to Die Alone will leave you wanting to seize the day as you cheer the protagonist on."—Bianca Marais, author of Hum If You Don't Know the Words
 
  “Quirky and heartfelt . . . . Andrew's past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections.” —Kirkus Reviews“
 
  “Funny, moving and thought-provoking—I loved this.” —Clare Mackintosh, author of After the End
 

作者介紹

About the Author

Richard Roper


  Richard Roper is a nonfiction editor at Headline, where he works with authors such as James Acaster, Joel Dommett, Andrew O'Neill, and Frank Turner. How Not to Die Alone is inspired by an article he read about people whose job it is to follow up after people die alone. It is his debut novel.
 

詳細資料

  • ISBN:9780525539889
  • 規格:精裝 / 15.2 x 22.9 x 2.1 cm / 普通級
贊助商廣告
 
TAAZE 讀冊生活 - 今日66折
華頓商學院最受歡迎的談判課:上完這堂課,世界都會聽你的(暢銷20萬冊增修版)
作者:史都華.戴蒙
出版社:先覺出版
出版日期:2018-01-01
66折: $ 264 
城邦讀書花園 - 今日66折
網軍部隊
作者:張康明
出版社:布克文化
出版日期:2019-01-05
66折: $ 198 
金石堂網路書店 - 今日66折
保健食品全書增修版:網羅現代人13大需求項目,從51種保健成分的作用模式到100種熱門保健食品的健康使用與購買門道,徹底解決所有疑難問題
作者:江省蓉
出版社:易博士出版社
出版日期:2018-04-28
66折: $ 495 
iRead 灰熊愛讀書 - 今日66折
廚藝好好玩:探究真正飲食科學‧破解...
作者:傑夫‧波特 (Jeff Potter)
出版社:奇光出版
出版日期:2017-06-02
66折: $ 395 
 
博客來 - 暢銷排行榜
我們不能是朋友(郭雪芙、劉以豪領銜主演電視劇「我們不能是朋友」同名小說)
作者:阿亞梅
出版社:阿亞梅
出版日期:2018-03-13
$ 221 
博客來 - 暢銷排行榜
蔡康永的情商課:為你自己活一次
作者:蔡康永
出版社:如何
出版日期:2018-11-01
$ 277 
 
樂天書城 - 新書排行榜
誰說一百分的妳,才是最好的自己
$ 277 
樂天書城 - 新書排行榜
相親相愛是什麼
作者:汪培珽
出版社:愛孩子愛自
出版日期:2017-12-25
$ 253 
Taaze 讀冊生活 - 新書排行榜
Bella儂儂 6月號/2018 第409期(兩款封面隨機出貨)
出版社:創新書報股份有公司
出版日期:2018-06-02
$ 151 
 
FindPrice 的 FaceBook粉絲專頁

©2019 FindPrice -  購物比價  圖書  找車網  供應商  服務條款  隱私權政策